Michigan State Basketball: 2013 Big Ten Postseason Honors

With the regular season officially over and the madness that is March in the near future, the Big Ten has announced the award winners for the 2012-2013 season. Michigan State’s Keith Appling, Gary Harris and Adreian Payne were all recipients of a Big Ten award on Monday. Here are some reactions from the players and head coach Tom Izzo:

Below are the Big Ten award winners:

Big Ten Player of the Year: 

Trey Burke, Michigan

Burke averaged 20.2 points and 6.4 assists in Big Ten play, and led the conference in scoring and assists. The sophomore has the top assist-to-turnover ratio in the country, with  212 assists to just 61 turnovers for a ratio of 3.5 in all games. Burke is the first player for the Wolverines to win since Flint’s Glen Rice won the award in 1989.

Coach of the Year:

Bo Ryan, Wisconsin

Coach Ryan led the Badgers to a record of 21-10 overall and a 12-6 mark in Big Ten play this season, marking the 11th time in 12 seasons Ryan has guided Wisconsin to a top-four finish in the conference standings. Ryan ranks first among active Big Ten coaches with a .723 winning percentage and is  11 wins shy of  300 victories at Wisconsin. This is his third Big Ten Coach of the Year award after taking home back-to-back honors in 2002 and 2003.

Freshman of the Year:

MSU freshman Gary Harris has been named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. (AP PHOTO)

MSU freshman Gary Harris has been named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. (AP PHOTO)

Gary Harris, Michigan State

Harris  is leading all conference newcomers in scoring and steals, averaging 13.7 points and 1.6 steals in Big Ten games only. He also finished the conference season second in three-point field goal percentage (.472).

Defensive Player of the Year:

Victor Oladipo, Indiana

Oladipo collects the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year accolade  after leading the Hoosiers to their first outright Big Ten title since 1993. Oladipo leads the conference with 2.2 steals per game which has earned him the third Defensive Player of the Year award in Indiana history and first since Michigan State assistant coach Dane Fife in 2002.

Sixth Man of the Year:

Will Sheehey, Indiana

Sheehey is averaging 9.5 points per game off the bench for Indiana and shooting nearly 50 percent. He becomes Indiana’s first Big Ten Sixth Man of the Year since the award was given in 2006.

Media First-Team All-Big Ten:

Trey Burke (Michigan), Victor Oladipo (Indiana), Cody Zeller (Indiana), Aaron Craft (Ohio State) and Deshaun Thomas (Ohio State)

Coaches First-Team All-Big Ten:

Trey Burke (Michigan), Victor Oladipo (Indiana), Deshaun Thomas (Ohio State), Cody Zeller (Indiana) and Tim Hardaway Jr. (Michigan)

Media Second-Team All-Big Ten:

Tim Hardaway Jr. (Michigan), Gary Harris (Michigan State), Adreian Payne (Michigan State), Trevor Mbakwe (Minnesota) and Jared Berggren (Wisconsin)


Coaches Second-Team All-Big Ten:

Keith Appling (Michigan State), Gary Harris (Michigan State), Adreian Payne (Michigan State), Aaron Craft (Ohio State) and Jared Berggren (Wisconsin)


Media Third-Team All-Big Ten:

Brandon Paul (Illinois), Christian Watford (Indiana), Aaron White (Iowa), Keith Appling (Michigan State) and Andre Hollins (Minnesota)


Coaches Third-Team All-Big Ten:

Brandon Paul (Illinois), D.J. Richardson (Illinois), Christian Watford (Indiana), Roy Devyn Marble (Iowa), Trevor Mbakwe (Minnesota) and Terone Johnson (Purdue)


All-Freshmen Team:

Gary Harris (Michigan State), Yogi Ferrell (Indiana), Glenn Robinson III (Michigan), A.J. Hammons (Purdue) and Sam Dekker (Wisconsin)

All-Defensive Team:

Victor Oladipo (Indiana), Aaron Craft (Ohio State), Jordan Morgan (Michigan), Shannon Scott (Ohio State) and Jared Berggren (Wisconsin)

Sportsmanship Award Nominees:

Brandon Paul (Illinois), Derek Elston (Indiana), Eric May (Iowa), Tim Hardaway Jr. (Michigan), Adreian Payne (Michigan State), Andre Hollins (Minnesota), Brandon Ubel (Nebraska), Reggie Hearn (Northwestern), Sam Thompson (Ohio State), Nick Colella (Penn State), Dru Anthrop (Purdue)and Jared Berggren (Wisconsin)