Michigan State football: Langford named to Doak Walker watch list

big ten football

Jeremy Langford had a breakout season for the Spartans in 2013.

The preseason accolades continue to roll in for the Michigan State football program.

A day after MSU junior quarterback Connor Cook was named to the preseason Davey O’Brien Award watch list, Spartan senior running back Jeremy Langford has been named to the 2014 preseason Doak Walker Award watch list, which annually recognizes the nation’s top running back.

Langford had a breakout season in 2013. From playing defense a few years ago to running for 1422 yards 18 touchdowns a year ago, all the while helping the Spartans to their first Rose Bowl victory since 1988, Langford certainly has come a long way.

The rest of the individuals named to the preseason Doak Walker Award watch list are as follows:

  • Ameer Abdullah (Sr.), Nebraska
  • Jay Ajayi (Jr.), Boise State
  • Javorius “Buck” Allen (Jr.), USC
  • Leon Allen (Jr.), Western Kentucky
  • Terry Baggett (Sr.), Army
  • Bill Belton (Sr.), Penn State
  • Malcolm Brown (Sr.), Texas
  • Tra Carson (Jr.), Texas A&M
  • B.J. Catalon (Jr.), TCU
  • David Cobb (Sr.), Minnesota
  • Tevin Coleman (Jr.), Indiana
  • Alex Collins (So.), Arkansas
  • James Conner (So.), Pittsburgh
  • Marcus Cox (So.), Appalachian State
  • Mike Davis (Jr.), South Carolina
  • Kenneth Dixon (Jr.), Louisiana Tech
  • Jahwan Edwards (Sr.), Ball State
  • Kenneth Farrow (Jr.), Houston
  • Josh Ferguson (Jr.), Illinois
  • D.J. Foster (Jr.), Arizona State
  • Melvin Gordon (Jr.), Wisconsin
  • Michael Gordon (Jr.), Arkansas State
  • Johnathan Gray (Jr.), Texas
  • Todd Gurley (Jr.), Georgia
  • Kenneth Harper (Sr.), Temple
  • Alonzo Harris (Sr.), Louisiana-Lafayette
  • Derrick Henry (So.), Alabama
  • Bronson Hill (Sr.), Eastern Michigan
  • Joe Hill (Sr.), Utah State
  • Duke Johnson (Jr.), Miami
  • Jeremy Langford (Sr.), Michigan State
  • Daniel Lasco (Jr.), California
  • Shock Linwood (So.), Baylor
  • Robert Lowe (Jr.), Texas State
  • Tre Madden (Jr.), USC
  • Terrence Magee (Sr.), LSU
  • Raymond Maples (Sr.), Army
  • Byron Marshall (Jr.), Oregon
  • Kevin Parks (Sr.), Virginia
  • Christian Powell (Jr.), Colorado
  • Donnel Pumphrey (So.), San Diego State
  • Josh Robinson (Jr.), Mississippi State
  • William Stanback (So.), UCF
  • Cameron Stingily (Sr.), Northern Illinois
  • Kelvin Taylor (So.), Florida
  • Thomas Tyner (So.), Oregon
  • Jamaal Williams (Jr.), BYU
  • Jonathan Williams (Jr.), Arkansas
  • Trey Williams (Jr.), Texas A&M
  • Aaron Wimberly (Sr.), Iowa State
  • T.J. Yeldon (Jr.), Alabama
  • Kelsey Young (Sr.), Stanford
  • Zach Zwinak (Sr.), Penn State